Why I Should Never Have Passed 3rd Grade Art

This week, my 9th graders read a Japanese folk tale in English. My Japanese English teacher thought some words would be difficult to understand, so she asked that I illustrate their meanings.

Clearly, she’s never seen me draw.

(Mouse over each picture for a special surprise!)

It's not a girl's hand; I just thought that was the best color to use for fingernails.

Try it - you won't believe the difference between your two frowns.

Fuzzy Wuzzy was a bear; Fuzzy Wuzzy still is a bear; Don't poke Fuzzy Wuzzy.

It's not romantic unless your arms are pointed straight out.

They look like turtles.

Why did he throw a red pepper? Because I already drew the raccoon.

The kids laughed hysterically when they first saw this. They were disappointed to learn it was just mud.

Right?

This last one is the exception. I blacked-out for a few minutes, and when I came to, this magnificent anteater-raccoon lay before me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. puts xkcd to shame.

    Reply

  2. I still want the raccoon and killer bear ones to put up on my wall. And you should be proud of how you were able to combine those words so well. You deserve this: http://www.babyethiopia.com/WindowsLiveWriter/goldstar.jpg

    Reply

  3. Posted by GBD on February 19, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    What, precisely, was the folk tale about?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nicole on February 27, 2009 at 1:22 am

    no clowns juggling hands…i’m disappointed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

