Neurobics!

Lifting weights! Running! Left-handed teeth brushing?

My friend Harris introduced me to this idea of shaking up my daily routine to make habitual tasks interesting, challenging, potentially frustrating, but usually fun. The concept is to use your senses in new ways to give your brain and body an interesting workout. Let’s take teeth brushing as an example. If you’re right-handed, brushing your teeth is normally handled by the left side of your brain. When you switch to brushing left-handed, the rarely-used network of connections and circuits involved in brushing with your left hand is now activated on the right side of the brain. It’s hard! The first time I tried, it felt like I was learning to brush for the first time, and my left arm was actually tired after a couple minutes. Something as monotonous as brushing my teeth all of a sudden became a challenging workout!

How else can you shake up your daily routine? How about showering with your eyes closed, or rearranging your desk or office, or focusing all five senses on eating an apple, or complimenting a stranger? The possibilities are endless!

Today I tried eating my school lunch left-handed with chopsticks. My fingers were cramping halfway through my rice bowl. Challenge accepted!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nicole on February 24, 2010 at 4:15 am

    I’ve totally tried to brush my teeth with my left hand…hard! At one point i just started moving my head instead, seemed easier…still wasn’t. I’m pretty sure i got toothpaste all over the place.

    Reply

  2. Posted by kotonii on February 24, 2010 at 4:30 am

    Or doing Jillian.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

