What a Start

In a public park in Staunton, VA

I may just have the best friends a guy could have.

At the break of 10:30am, I headed out from Charlottesville, VA. But not alone…Edward and Katherine, two amazing friends, decided to join me on my first day on the road. Together, we conquered a 1000′ ascent up Afton Mountain, shared granola bars and turkey sandwiches, met other touring cyclists bound for Oregon, and rolled 40 miles into Staunton, VA. Not only was I treated to celebratory beers and dinner, but they even followed me, Jeep-in-tow, until I found my campsite – a public park, nestled among a few low-hanging trees.

Forecast for tonight: rain.
Forecast for the next week: rain.

There are a few things from today that I can’t believe: 1)how the start of my trip coincides with a week long east coast storm, 2) how I have internet service in this park (a weak wireless linksys signal from who knows where), and 3) how I can’t get this smile off my face. What a way to start a trip. Thank you Wizzard, JV, and Shogun for being awesome people and making Day 1 better than anything I could hope for.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by GBD on May 17, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I am psyched for you dude. So excited! Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Posted by sara on May 17, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I preferred to call mine THUNDER THIGHS, but tree trunks for legs is good too!:) Hope you are staying dry. A cup of tea to warm the soul! Grandma would say…
    Keep rockin
    Sara

    Reply

Leave a Reply

