Week Six Stats

Week 6 Stats:

Starting city: Concordia, KS

Ending city: Denver, CO

Total distance traveled: 445 miles

Total distance to date: 1847 miles

Days on the bike: 6

Days in Lebanon: 1

Average per day of riding: 74 miles

Shortest day:ย 67 miles

Longest day: 78 miles

Total money spent: $47

Average per day: $6.60

Hungover + biking + heat = no fun

Bike computer battery death: 1

Toffee peanuts: Delicious

Town fairs: 1, in Norton

Cotton candy: 0

Disappointment: Extreme (evidently it was the first day and they were still setting up)

Atwood, KS grocery perks: 70 cent soft serve and free wi fi!

Colorado’s Hwy 36: Barren

Flats: 1

Same as last time: Yep (patched, popped again, second time worked)

Biting flies on Kansas side of the border: 0

Biting flies as soon as my back wheel crossed into Colorado: Lots

Headwind in Colorado: yep

Tailwind in Colorado: Yep!

Population of Last Chance, CO: 9 (2 grandparents, son and wife, 4 grandchildren, and pastor)

Property allowed to use by Last Chance grandparents: backyard and bathroom!

New bike computer batteries: 1

Fellow Wahoo and Manhattan Beach resident met outside the RadioShack: 1 (what are the odds??)

Cross-country cyclists residing at my friend Aaron’s place in Denver: 2

Beverage greeted with at Aaron’s: Mickey’s 40 oz. malt liquor

Fire-roasted corn cobs consumed: 5

First impression of Denver: Beautiful, park-filled, cool evenings, fantastic people

11 responses to this post.

  1. So sorry to hear about your grandpa. Glad to hear that your ride is going well, though. Keep up the strong work!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Andrew on August 1, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Awesome stories bmuff. I’m sure you’re grandad would be proud ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by Olivia F. on August 2, 2011 at 3:00 am

    How did you find out the population of Last Chance? I guess it was temporarily 10 when you were there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • Posted by bcline909 on August 3, 2011 at 2:45 am

      O! I stayed with an old couple who informed me that the only others living there were their family and the pastor. hope the horses are treating you well!

      Reply

  4. Posted by jannyd1028 on August 3, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Looks like you just charged hard through this past week- nice daily distances there kiddo. What a great way to honor your grandfather’s memory and to garner support for your father. Nice work and I can’t wait to see you in a few weeks- let me know if you need to coordinate flight plans!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Caren Weiner on August 4, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Brandon – Nicole told me about your bike ride a while ago, but just gave me the link to the blog yesterday – what a great adventure and great reason(s) for riding! I think I have read almost all of your blog entries and the photos are amazing – I made a donation in your father’s name and look forward to seeing you sometime when you get to Manhattan Beach – congrats on what sounds like an unbelievable exploration of our country, it’s people and yourself!
    –Caren Weiner

    Reply

    • Posted by bcline909 on August 6, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      Caren! Thank you so much! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. I’ve made it to Lander, WY, and already have about 3-4 posts in mind that I need to get on the blog…the adventures and kindness of strangers never stop happening!

      Reply

  6. Brandon–
    We’re following you here at AFTD, living vicariously through your adventure! So glad to hear that you are experiencing a warm and welcoming country. And I am most impressed that you can get hungover on $6.60 a day!!
    Be safe and have fun–
    Susan Dickinson

    Reply

    • Posted by bcline909 on August 12, 2011 at 11:39 pm

      hi Susan! warm indeed, though a little too warm through the midwest. and very very welcoming, it’s amazing how much kindness I’ve been shown on this trip. glad you’re following the blog; more posts to come!

      Reply

  7. So happy to have found your blog! Just read through your entire trip thus far (at work…oops). I am truly amazed by you. My dad also has FTD and I admire your commitment and dedication to raising money and awareness about this terrible disease that we are both dealing with. I know you already passed through Ohio, but if you ever find your way back, my couch will always be open! Best of luck on the rest of your journey and I’ll be reading along!
    Jen

    Reply

    • Posted by bcline909 on August 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm

      thanks Jen! I’ll keep pedalin’ and postin’, and I most definitely will be back in Ohio since my family lives in Mason, so hopefully we’ll one day meet!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

