Week Nine Stats

Week 9 Stats:

Starting city: Arco, ID

Ending city: Mitchell, OR

Total distance traveled: 457 miles

Total distance to date: 3116 miles

Days on the bike: 7

Average per day of riding: 65 miles

Shortest day: 57 miles

Longest day: 90 miles!

Total money spent: $39

Average per day: $5.50

Appreciation level of Mother Nature’s change in exhalation direction: Extreme (Wyoming’s headwinds really made me thankful for no wind, even crosswinds, and especially tailwinds)

Breakfast made in Fairfield, ID by my WarmShowers host Laura: Whole wheat blueberry pancakes, eggs, sausage, and blue-raspberry smoothie!

Location amazing-tailwind-causing storm caught up with me: Mountain Home, ID (crazy wind and lightening all night)

Miles ridden on the interstate from Mountain Home to Boise, ID: 40

Name of CouchSurfing host Howard’s watercraft: A cataraft

Plates of catered Asian cuisine devoured at Howard’s friend’s stepdaughter’s graduation party: 4 loaded

Partiers who were amazed that Howard was “hosting a complete stranger?!”: Quite a few

Miles ridden on the interstate because I was sick of getting lost in the backroads: 1

Mountain passes biked over in Oregon: 6 (drastic changes in scenery as I traveled up down up down)

Murals in Vale, OR: Every block (it’s kind of their thing)

Community centers slept in: 1, in tiny Unity, OR

Huckleberry ice cream consumed: 1 cone (I had always assumed Huckleberry was just a Mark Twain character; evidently it’s also a fruit. A little less sweet than a blueberry, it’s mixed not only with ice cream, but also syrup, pancake mix, candles, BBQ sauce…you name it)

Dinner made at the Bike Inn (a woman’s guesthouse kept unlocked as a rest place for touring cyclists) in Mt. Vernon, OR: 2 massive salads, clam chowder, and peanut butter everything

Plates consumed at Mitchell Town BBQ: 5, packed to the edges with burgers, dogs, fruit, beans, pie, and brownies (I saw a sign outside the grocery saying “Community BBQ! Free! Everyone welcome!” So I rolled up in my bike shorts not sure what to expect, and was immediately welcomed. About 50 people were there, or about a third of Mitchell’s population. Lynn and Tim, the organizers of the event, inducted me with a Mitchell community shirt and invited me back to their house for beers. Again, as always, ridiculous kindness (I feel like those two words are written all over this blog)

7 responses to this post.

  1. Looks like the ice cream cone photobombed that last one. How much longer to go?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lori on August 27, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Howard might not appreciate that you selected a SOTAR raft for his picture. He’s an AIRE man! Enjoyed meeting you at Erin’s party. Would have liked to hear more about your peddling. Good luck to you!! Great blog.

    Reply

    • Posted by bcline909 on September 1, 2011 at 10:23 pm

      hahah, SOTAR? AIRE?? I have much to learn in the whitewater rafting world. thanks so much for letting me be a part of Erin’s celebrations!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Stephanie Marnocha on August 28, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Brandon! I am still so impressed at your epic adventure! And even more so by the amount of food you are able to eat! How much father do you have to go on this journey of yours? I am currently in Fairhope after just finishing a course, and our dear friend Nick Pucillo just joined me as he finished up course today. Just need you and Miah to complete the picture from last November! Take care of yourself and enjoy every moment! Because as I read in my book last night, “there are no ordinary moments!”

    Reply

    • Posted by bcline909 on September 1, 2011 at 10:27 pm

      thanks Steph! done with the trip, though still got a ways to go with updating the blog. say hi to nick for me (hoping he’s keeping his plants watered) and so impressed you all are still eating gorp and changing lives!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Lynn Foster on February 1, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    Brandon, this is Lynn from Mitchell, OR. I lost the “paper plate” with your email address and blog information but my 4 year old (then 2 year old) son brought me it out of the blue. I think it got lost in the office somewhere. Anyway, LOVE the blog and thanks for the nice props in your comments about our Community BBQ. I am still Coordinating events in our tiny little town and you are always welcome. Are you still riding?

    Reply

    • Posted by bcline909 on February 20, 2014 at 11:25 pm

      Lynn! This is a WILDLY DELAYED response. I am off the bike, but my girlfriend and I are planning to start hiking the Appalachian Trail this March! We’ll start in Georgia and hope to get up to Maine by October. Quite a hike! Are you still coordinating events for your tiny town? I am still amazed at the kindness and fun experience y’all showed me among the Oregon mountains.
      Cheers,
      Brandon

      Reply

Leave a Reply

